NYECC Announces 2019 Energy New York Award Recipients for Vision, Innovation and Leadership in Energy

ENYA award 2019
Dan Levin, Vice President, Energy Markets is pictured second from the left. Alan Gardner, Green Committee Co-Chair for The Grinnell is pictured fourth from the right.

Port Authority, JPMorgan Chase, swytchX, Sidewalk Labs and The Grinnell Award Recipients

 Goldman Sachs, Cornell Tech, Omni NY, Normandy Honored


NEW YORK, NY—October 30, 2019—The New York Energy Consumers Council (NYECC), the largest energy customer advocacy organization in New York State, today announced its 2019

Energy New York Awards (ENYA) recipients. The ENYA honors organizations and individuals who demonstrate exceptional leadership and innovation in smart energy use and conservation, and whose work has impact beyond their individual buildings or sites.  Alicia Barton, President and CEO of the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority, served as Keynote Speaker at the event.

  • Christine Weydig, Director, Environmental and Energy Programs, Port Authority of NY & NJ, received a vision award as the driving force in the Port Authority’s embrace of the Paris Climate Agreement and her work with stakeholders in the aviation, shipping, rail, and surface transportation sectors to decarbonize their operations.
  • JPMorgan Chase and swytchX received an innovation award for their partnership to develop a blockchain-integrated platform that will enhance the tracking of GHG emissions data, as well as JPMorgan’s commitment to source renewable energy for 100% of its global operations by the end of 2020.
  • Charlotte Matthews, Director of Sustainability, Sidewalk Labs, received a vision award for being a pioneer and visionary in the energy field, including the oversight of a one of its kind microgrid system at Hudson Yards that will annually save emissions equal to that of 2,200 American homes or 5,100 cars.
  • Alan Gardner and Bruce Kanze, Green Committee Co-Chairs at the Grinnell, received a leadership award for overcoming numerous challenges and successfully overseeing the first community solar installation at a landmarked NYC Co-op building, offsetting 40% of the property’s electricity, and attaining credits for shareholders and tax incentives for the building.

The following individuals and organizations were also honored at the October 29th event.

  • David Bury of Normandy Real Estate for providing all existing and prospective tenants with energy efficiency design standards with simple paybacks of 3 years or less.
  • Dan Cooke of Cornell Tech for his work at the Roosevelt Island campus, including the first Passive House high-rise residential building in the world.
  • Abdulla Darrat of Omni New York, LLC for the largest Passive House multifamily building – in square feet and units – in the country.
  • Cindy Quan of Goldman Sachs for leading the development of the corporate-wide global renewable energy strategy and procurement of long-term renewable energy.

Diana Sweeney, Executive Director, NYECC noted “Our honorees are leaders who have made a significant, positive impact on energy and the environment in NYC.  Their leadership, vision and innovation influence our energy community to continually strive for new technology, processes and ideas that create a firm foundation for our energy future.”

JPMorgan Chase & Co. hosted the event.  Sponsors included Constellation, The Durst Organization and Veolia.


About The New York Energy Consumers Council (NYECC)

The New York Energy Consumers Council represents the interests of major energy users in New York City and Westchester County and strives to ensure provision of safe and reliable delivery of energy at just and reasonable rates.  The NYECC provides collective strength for its members through ongoing interventions in numerous proceedings before the New York State Public Service Commission.




CONTACT:   Diana Sweeney, NYECC – diana.sweeney@nyecc.com  212-616-5116


You can also read NYREJ for additional highlights: https://nyrej.com/new-york-energy-consumers-council-honors-recipients-of-2019-energy-new-york-awards